Este agua no se debe tomar.

German Translation

Dieses Wasser ist nicht trinkbar.

This is the passive voice, right?

As I understand this sentence, literally it says:

“This water should not (must not) drink itself.”

As discussed here, this construct of a noun referring to itself/oneself is used to convey the passive voice.

So whereas the German/English originals both say “This water isn’t drinkable”, a translation closer to the Spanish sentence would go more like “This water should not (must not) be drunk.”, am I right? (In German, “Dieses Wasser sollte/darf nicht getrunken werden.”)

Would someone please confirm or correct this thought? I’m a beginner just starting to get the hang of this. Thanks in advance. :slight_smile:

I’d say this is a case of the impersonal “se”:
Dieses Wasser darf/sollte man nicht trinken.

But as we can see there’s multiple ways to convey the idea:
Dieses Wasser ist nicht trinkbar.
Dieses Wasser darf/sollte man nicht trinken.
Dieses Wasser darf/sollte nicht getrunken werden.

I’m unsure about this. Any sentence that uses the “impersonal se” mustn’t have a subject. But here we have a subject (“Who or what mustn’t be drunk?” “The water.”). The agua is either “doing the action to itself” or being acted upon, depending on how you view it (active or passive voice). In either case, the agua is the subject of the sentence, which is not allowed with the “impersonal se”. So, ruling out the “impersonal se”, it must be the passive voice, I think.

Thanks for your feedback, I appreciate it. :slightly_smiling_face:

Per the definition in the linked article, you are right.