Text or Multiple Choice?

Generally I mix it up but lately I’ve been relying on Multiple Choice in a kind of rush to reach target. So for a change I’ve popped back to Text which is more testing. Not only is the extra challenge good for me but it is a good indicator of how much I’ve progressed while Multiple Choicing without realising it. So it seems a mix of the two is pretty beneficial. I wonder if anyone else has found this?

Ciao… :slight_smile:

6 Likes

I only use multiple choice for my first run through in most of the languages I’m studying, but that’s because I use CM to practice using words I’ve already studied on Quizlet. Generally I prefer text, because it requires active production instead of passive recognition. What I usually do is add sentences to different custom Cloze Collections (idioms, specific tenses, confusing prepositions, new nouns/verbs, verbs of motion, etc.) as I come across them on my multiple choice run in the FFT and the frequency sets. Whatever gets saved also gets starred, so I know I’ve already dealt with it. Then I’ll study them to mastery in the Cloze Collection as text input. I don’t even bother with reviews for most of what didn’t get sorted into a Cloze Collection, because it usually means that I could have translated the entire sentence already. Anything unexpected gets sorted. I’ve also adjusted the wait period on reviews, so that I can drill all of them more frequently.

3 Likes

I default to text.