Question on manually mastering

Hi! Clozemaster newbie here, still figuring things out.

I haven’t changed the default review intervals yet, so it looks like a 100% mastered sentence would return for review in 180 days. But I noticed that the check mark button for manually mastering a sentence in the app shows a review interval of :infinity: - and the confirmation message says the next review date is set to next century. Is this correct, that the manually mastered sentences won’t reoccur and the ones reviewed 4x will?

Grazie!

4 Likes

Essentially, yes. The “known” button is intended to be used for a subtly different reason.

There are some questions that you don’t ever want to see again. Sometimes the questions may be a bit gross, more commonly the sentences are so basic that when your language learning reaches a certain point you will NEVER forget the word, and continuing to review it adds no value.

There used to be an “Ignore” button for that, but the problem was that it screwed around with your progress scores. The replacement was the Known button.

This is different to something that is simply “mastered”. With less common words, you can “master” them but still forget them over time. They still need to be reviewed. They’ll pop up again in 180 days or whatever you have the “mastered”/ 100% review cycle set to at the time. “Known” is for words that you will NEVER forget, and there is no point in reviewing them further.

EDIT: I should add… if you ever reset the collection that the known sentence appears in, it WILL go back to being a “normal” question and will go back into the normal review cycle.

4 Likes

What you correctly describe is the difference between “100 % mastered” and “known”.
The system never sets a cloze to “known” automatically, that you will have to do manually.
Of course, “known” includes “100 % mastered”.